Harlan Ellison's Awards

Links to Web Sites for many of these awards can be found on Webderland's links page.




Hugo Award:
1966 Short Story: Repent, Harlequin!" Said the Ticktockman
1968 Short Story: I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream
1969 Short Story: The Beast That Shouted Love at the Heart of the World
1974 Novelette: The Deathbird
1975 Novelette: Adrift Just Off the Islets of Langerhans: Latitude 38 54' N, Longitude 77 00' 13" W
1978 Short Story: Jeffty is Five
1986 Novelette: Paladin of the Lost Hour
Hugo Award: (given to production of Ellison piece)
1967 Dramatic Presentation (Movie/Play/TV) : Star Trek - The City on the Edge of Forever
1976 Dramatic Presentation (Movie/Play/TV) A Boy and His Dog (shared with L. Q. Jones)
Hugo Committee Awards:
1968 Special Award - Dangerous Visions
1972 Special Award - Excellence in Anthologizing -- Again, Dangerous Visions

Nebula Award:
1965 Short Story: "Repent, Harlequin!" Said the Ticktockman
1969 Novella: A Boy and His Dog
1977 Short Story: Jeffty is Five

Locus Poll Award:
1970 Short Fiction: The Region Between
1972 Short Ficton: Basilisk
1974 Short Fiction: The Deathbird
1975 Novelette: Adrift Just Off the Islets of Langerhans: Latitude 38 54'N,Longitude 77 00'13"W
1976 Short Story: Croatoan
1978 Short Fiction: Jeffty is Five
1979 Short Story: Count the Clock That Tells the Time
1983 Novelette: Djinn, No Chaser
1985 Related Non-Fiction Book: Sleepless Nights in the Procrustean Bed
1986 Novelette:Paladin of the Lost Hour
         Short Story: With Virgil Oddum at the East Pole
         Anthology: Medea: Harlan's World
1989 Novelette: The Function of Dream Sleep
         Short Story: Eidolons
         Collection: Angry Candy
1994 Novella:Mefisto in Onyx
1998 Collection: Slippage

British Science Fiction Award:
1979 Short Fiction: Deathbird Stories

World Fantasy Award:
1989 Best Collection: Angry Candy
1993 Lifetime Acheivement Award

British Fantasy Award:
1979 Short Story: Jeffty is Five

Jupiter Award (of the Instructors of Science Fiction in Higher Education)
1973 The Deathbird
1977 Jeffty is Five
(award discontinued in 1979)

Saturn Award (of the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Films)
1976 Superior Achievement and Merit in Fantasy Film: A Boy and His Dog
(awarded despite Ellison's work on ABAHD being uncredited)

Georges Melies Fantasy Film Award:
(for Outstanding Cinematic Achievement in Science Fiction Television)
1972 Demon with a Glass Hand
1973 Ciy on the Edge of Forever

Asimov's Reader's Poll Award:
1988 Special Award: I, Robot: The Movie

SF Chronicle Award:
1984 Most Attractive Male Writer

Gallun Award (from I-CON):
1997 - for a lifetime of acheivement in the genre of science fiction


Bram Stoker Award:
1988 Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection: The Essential Ellison
1990 Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction: Harlan Ellison's Watching
1994 Superior Achievement in a Novella: Mefisto in Onyx
1996 Superior Achievement in a Short Story: Chatting with Anubis 1996 Life Achievement Award

Deathrealm Award:
1996 Best Short Fiction: Chatting with Anubis

International Horror Critics Award:
1995 - first ever Living Legend Award


Edgar Allen Poe Award (the "Usher"):
1974 The Whimper of Whipped Dogs
1988 Soft Monkey

American Mystery Award:
1988 Soft Monkey


Writers Guild of America Award:
1965 Demon with a Glass Hand - Outer Limits
1967 The City on the Edge of Forever - Star Trek
1973 Phoenix Without Ashes - The Starlost (pilot episode)
1986 Paladin of the Lost Hour - Twilight Zone

The ViRA Award (of the videocassette industry):
The Most Memorable TV Script on Video of All Time: Demon With a Glass Hand (Outer Limits)

Best American Short Stories:
1993 The Man Who Rowed Christopher Columbus Ashore

Nova Award:
1968 - for most outstanding contribution to the field of science fiction

P.E.N. International Silver Pen Award:
1982 Column in L.A. Weekly: An Edge in My Voice
1988 Special Recognition for commitment to artistic freedom and the battle against censorship.

Encyclopedia Americana Annual - major American works of literature:
1988 Angry Candy

Milford Award:
1990 - for lifetime achievement in editing.

National Women's Committe of Brandeis University:
1998 Words, Wit, and Wisdom Award

Spotlite Award (of the Computer Game Developers' Association):
1997 Adaptation of Linear Media: I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream (with Cyberdreams)

Audie Award (of the Audio Publishers Association):
1999 - Best Solo Narration, Male for reading Ben Bova's City of Darkness
1999 - Multi-Voiced Presentation with the rest of the cast of The Titanic Disaster Hearings: The Official Transcript of the 1912 Senatorial Investigation by Tom Kuntz.

Emmy Nomination:
Nomination year and information unavailable

Grammy Nomination:
(year unavailable) - Spoken word recording: Jefty is Five

HarlanEllison.com is under new management. Thank you to Rick Wyatt for his many years of dutiful stewardship of this site.